A blog about everything even cooking

semi-homemade pasta sauce by Me :)

Okay so this sauce had to be semi-homemade because I used Prego as a base since we were out of tomatoes (next time we have tomatoes though im making my own sauce and posting the recipe:)). I do not like Prego I think it’s too sweet and watery I like my pasta sauce to be thick and spicy. I made this pasta sauce while watching my favorite movie “Some Like it Hot” and both Daisy and Tootsie joined me in the kitchen (they layed on their carpets and slept but they were still there with me šŸ˜‰ ) Everyone loved the pasta, I made this recipe for dinner so here we go,Ā I hope you like it!

For this recipe you will need Prego “Traditional”, 1 can green chilis (which ever heat temp. you prefer), tomato paste (what ever tomato paste you have in your pantry, ill post a pic of what I used soon), 4 pieces frozen chicken, 1 medium onion chopped, 2 cloves garlic chopped, tablespoon butter,Ā 2 teaspoon garlic powder, 2 tablespoons parsley, 1 and 1/2Ā tablespoon thyme, 3 tablespoons corn starch, 1/4 cupĀ  chicken broth, 1/4 cup cream cheese. The pasta that I suggest using for this sauce would be rigatoni or something similar.

Add half of the 67 oz. container of Prego to a pot then add 1 can green chilis, mix together on low heat, then add 1 tablespoon tomato paste. While the sauce simmers get your chicken out of the freezer and place it in a pan with about an inch of water, put on the stove over medium high heat (make sure and watch the chicken). In another small pan over medium heatĀ put the tablespoon butter and add the chopped onion when the onions become translucent add the garlic (don’t add at the beginning or it will burn and becomeĀ bitter). Now back to the sauce add 2 teaspoons garlic powder, 2 tablespoons parsley and 1 tablespoonĀ and 1/2Ā of thyme mix together then add 3 tablespoons cornstarch mix again and then add 1/4 cup chicken broth, then add the 1/4 cup cream cheese and the onions and garlic if they are done. When the chicken is finished cooking cut it up in to strips and add to the sauce then pour over which ever pasta you chose and enjoy šŸ™‚

2 responses

  1. Bill Haugland

    I was the recipient of this meal and it was great!

    September 23, 2010 at 8:19 pm

  2. Bill Haugland

    I love my eating the creations that Megan cooks.

    October 6, 2010 at 6:54 pm

Leave a Reply

