A blog about everything even cooking

Citrus Sugar Cookies

Yesterday I decided I would try making citrus sugar cookies, I love the taste of lemon…I put lemon on and in everything! in my water, on my fish, my soup, my tea everywhere where it will fit in so I thought why not in sugar cookies? I hadn’t been able to bake in a while because of a really bad cold so it was nice to try making a new recipe again…I hope you like them if you try them..everyone at my house loved them. So here it is..the recipe I created just last night…Enjoy!

For this recipe you will need the following

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup shortening
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon lemon extract
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon orange zest
  • juice of half an orange
  • 2 cups flour

To start beat together (with an electric mixer) the butter and shortening till combined then add in the sugar, baking powder and salt and mix again next add the egg, vanilla and lemon and again beat together. Put the mixture aside and zest your lemon and orange, then fold in the lemon and orange zest. Add in the juice of half of the orange and again mix, now add the 2 cups flour, beat in as much as you can with the electric mixer then mix in the rest with a wooden spoon.

Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and let it sit in the fridge or freezer till you can work with it (I put mine in the freezer for 30 minutes and it worked great)

Take out the dough and start rolling the dough out on a clean surface that is lightly dusted with sugar, also dust the top so the roller doesn’t stick (roll out to about 1/4 an inch thick)…then get any cookie cutter you have and cut the dough..when you cut the dough make sure you move the cutter around a bit so the dough isnt sticking to the bottom (this happened a few times to me and I had to roll out my dough again, so make sure you move the cookie cutter around) then place the cookies on a lightly greased cookie pan and bake in an oven for 7 minutes per batch at 375.

I also made a glaze for my cookies which was really good and this is the recipe for that..

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 4 tablespoons lemon juice
  • a bit of lemon zest (as much as you want but if you don’t know how much to add I would recommend about 1/2 teaspoon)

Now all you do is mix the ingredients together and wait for the cookies to cool and then brush the glaze on top and enjoy!

2 responses

  1. jaswrites

    This recipe is simply flawless! Your creation is magnificent; I hope to use it soon (Thanksgiving, perhaps?)!

    November 18, 2010 at 5:09 am

Leave a Reply

