A blog about everything even cooking

From the Seas

The picture that I have chosen for my header is of me looking up..in the right corner it says “From the Seas” which most think I put just because I live near the coast or because I love the ocean. From the seas is what the pirates of the golden age of piracy would say when asked where they were from when caught by the british navy. I read that fact in a book about Black Bart (my favorite pirate) and I thought it was so cool that instead of acknowledging their actual home country where they were from the men   (most of them being from Ireland or Britain at the time) would simply say “From the Seas” it’s so cool to me..I love pirates! I think they are so interesting especially Black Bart because of the way he led his men..setting up great rules (he didn’t even allow gambling or women on his ship). One day when im older and im finally opening my first bakery I want the name to have something to do with pirates..so lately “From the Seas” has been my obsession because I spend quite a bit of time thinking of different names that would work for a bakery..ex “From the Seas cafe”.

 

Anyways..just random facts and thoughts..Have a great weekend!!

2 responses

  1. jaswrites

    Great post!
    Interesting coincidence is that Charles E. Boles robbed ‘Wells Fargo’ Stagecoaches in the western United States and also went by the alias “Black Bart”. Even more interestingly, this western Black Bart behaved like a complete gentleman! He wrote poetry:

    “Here I lay me down to sleep
    To wait the coming morrow,
    Perhaps success, perhaps defeat
    And everlasting sorrow.
    Yet come what will, I’ll try it once,
    My conditions can’t be worse,
    And if there’s money in that box,
    ‘Tis money in my purse”.

    “From the Seas” sounds great;
    One reason (for the pirates), I think, is that it is very abstract and open: the sea was the home of the pirates (somewhat literally!), and the connections they form to it are very deep. Not to mention the dramatic effect (i.e I would expect Johnny Depp to say something similar! 🙂 )

    November 20, 2010 at 9:28 pm

  2. sounds like the two black barts were very similar! Black Bart (the robber) sounds like he was a very gifted poet.

    November 20, 2010 at 9:40 pm

Leave a Reply

