A blog about everything even cooking

A Beautiful painting

I recently got in to paintings…meaning that I figured out what movement is my favorite (Pre-Raphaelite) and who my favorite artist is..John William Waterhouse. His work is beyond beautiful, you look at his paintings and feel as if you are falling in..my wallpaper for my computer is a painting by him titled Miranda — the tempest and every time I glance over at my computer I have to do a double take because the waves and scenery in the picture look so real I forget its a painting. His paintings have so much detail in them, im amazed he could paint so many pieces in his life  time..one painting by him would have taken me forever. A lot of his work are paintings of greek mythology and mermaids! (which made me fall more in love with the paintings). I wrote this to share my favorite paintings by John William Waterhouse, they are titled The Mermaid, The Lady of Shalott, Miranda and of course Miranda — the tempest. The first painting of his that I ever saw was The Lady of Shalott and the detail blew me away..its crazy how much is in the picture..everytime I look at it I find something new.

2 responses

  1. jaswrites

    Excellent Post!

    Beautiful paintings! John William Waterhouse was an exceptionally talented painter . . .
    I just found out that he was the painter of “Gather Ye Rosebuds While Ye May”: Excellent painting!

    I’m still looking for a favorite painter 🙂 It seems difficult to find one.

    Painting is a beautiful art!

    December 10, 2010 at 2:05 am

    • you should look up artisit part of the pre-raphaelite movement, all the work is just amazing

      December 10, 2010 at 6:25 pm

Leave a Reply

