A blog about everything even cooking

Pepparkakor mmmmm..

I love these cookies, they are delicious! They are traditional Scandinavian sugar and spice cookies and I make sure to make hundreds every year at Christmas time. I made these while watching The Lord of the Rings : The Return of the King. I use this recipe every year…I twist the recipe around and make it my own so here it is…

for the recipe you will need

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs (beaten)
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 4 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 teaspoon ginger
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

First cream the butter and sugar, then add the eggs and molasses and beat well. Mix all the dry ingredients in a separate bowl and then add the dry mix to the wet ingredients 1/2 cups at a time, mixing well after each addition. Roll dough into teaspoon sized balls (I use a melon baller) and roll in a mixture of cinnamon and sugar. Finally you bake on a greased sheet for 8-10 minutes at 350.

My giant bag of flour that I have to keep in the garage freezer so it isn’t sitting on the garage floor..i go through about 2-3 bags  a year (;

mmmm…the cinnamon and sugar mixture..i usually have more sugar than cinnamon but this time there was more cinnamon and it was good!! Traditionally these cookies are rolled in sugar but one year I rolled them in cinnamon and sugar and that’s when I knew I had to change it.

Eat these cookies…let them melt in your mouth (: these are delicious dipped in milk, hot chocolate or coffee..if you like super crisp cookies..make them smaller and they will crunch.

2 responses

  1. NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM….i ate almost all of these….tehhee! MAKE MORE. please {:

    December 23, 2010 at 12:28 am

Leave a comment