A blog about everything even cooking

When life gets tough..

When life gets tough and you feel you can’t go any further its important to remember this quote..”When you reach the end of your rope, tie a knot in it and hang on” – Thomas Jefferson.

So today after being unable to give a presentation to a class that I spent all morning preparing for, then my computer being a pain, then learning (the hard way) that even best friends can be deceiving and dealing with so much drama it made me want to crawl in to a hole….I finally decided that it was time to tie the knot in my rope and just hang on.

I came home from my best friends grandmothers house and took the pups for a long walk to try to clear my head. I then came home and got in comfy pajama bottoms, threw on an oversized t-shirt and pulled on fluffy colorful socks. After taking a few deep breaths..I decided that hard days deserve a piece of dark chocolate so I wandered in to the kitchen for a late night snack of milk and a square or two of chocolate and then landed on the couch. I also decided that after you’ve tied your knot in your rope..its important to remember the carefree days of childhood…so I did what any person that was born in the 90’s would do…I turned on Little Bear.  At this moment im watching little bear and not thinking about a worry or even the real world…as far as im concerned it doesn’t exist until tomorrow morning. Sometimes we all need to just let go of the reigns and take a break…its a necessity.

Some rules for letting go:

  1. Fluffy socks…you need fluffy socks to really let go and relax.
  2. Some sort of treat..a bit of chocolate maybe?
  3. Sweat pants or pajama bottoms…your now hanging on for the ride..you dont need jeans.
  4. A movie or show to transport you back to your childhood.
  5. And finally..the most important rule!! You can’t let go forever..this is life and sometimes it gets sucky..take a break but not  forever…eventually re-enter reality..slowly if needed and if you start to get too stressed listen to Enya 🙂
2 responses

  1. Jessica

    So with you on the fluffy socks!!
    To chill out I prefer milk chocolate or chocolate ice cream – so lush.
    We all have those days, but just hang on in there, the sun will shine tomorrow!

    January 13, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    • oh yeah chocolate ice cream sounds nice haha and thank you! the next day was much better 🙂

      January 13, 2011 at 6:04 pm

Leave a Reply

