A blog about everything even cooking

Classic white cake – lemon

 

I usually don’t like making cakes, I feel like making the batter doesn’t take enough time and it requires no skill. There is one cake I will never get sick of making though and that  is this cake, Classic white, and that is because for this cake you don’t just mix everything together and add eggs..you also have to beat together egg whites “until stiff peaks form” and then carefully fold them in. This cake is beautiful and if you choose to add lemon flavoring..its perfect for spring! I got the recipe from my all american cookery book.

 

The recipe

 

 

 
 
 
 

 

 

Very easy just start by creaming the sugar and butter which is just mixing the two.

butter and sugar

 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 

Then combine the flour and baking powder, add to the butter and sugar mixture alternately with one cup of milk

 

..mix well after each addition. Add the salt and extracts, instead of lemon you could do almond, just vanilla, maple, coconut, or even walnut.

 

the extracts and salt

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This is where it gets fun 🙂 beat the 6 egg whites until stiff peak forms (you can save the yolks and make a yellow cake! I’ll post the recipe for that cake next time) after gently folk in to the batter.

 

cake batter

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Divide the batter equally in to two cake pans that are buttered and floured (make sure you flour the pans, I didn’t think it necessary and a bit of the cake stuck to the bottom even though the pans were greased)

 

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes at 375, if the cake starts browning too quickly, cover the cakes with tin foil, then let them continue baking.

the finished cake

 

I finished the cake with lemon icing that was perfect with the cake..heres the recipe:

frosting:

3 tablespoons butter

3 cups sifted powder sugar

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1 tablespoon water

dash of salt

Just combined the ingredients in a bowl with a whisk till combined.

I also topped the cake with strawberries because my best friend said it would look good..and she was right..not only looked good but tasted amazing!!

Hope you all have an amazing weekend and an awesome Easter Sunday!

14 responses

  1. I ate about 1/2 of the cake and can confirm how good it was.

    April 23, 2011 at 2:32 pm

  2. It looks beautiful!

    April 23, 2011 at 8:09 pm

  3. jbeebe

    Oh gawsh, why did I come here in the middle of the night on an empty stomach. I’m so hungry now ;_;

    Looks fantastic.

    April 24, 2011 at 3:16 am

  4. pawpoint

    mmm looks amazing! Love the strawberry decorations on top. I forgot to tell you that I made your coconut-cream-pie-cake thing from ur last post! It was amazing! The first time I have ever baked anything successfully haha, I made it for one of my friends birthday and everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe!

    April 29, 2011 at 5:05 am

    • oh awesome!! im so happy someone finally tried a recipe and told me how it worked out ((:

      May 2, 2011 at 5:29 am

  5. im not a big fan of lemon cake but ill eat just about anything with strawberries on it. looks yummy.

    May 30, 2011 at 7:58 am

    • Thank you! The strawberries really made the cake somthin special it was too plain with just the lemon 🙂

      May 31, 2011 at 6:25 pm

  6. oh wow, that looks absolutely divine !

    July 10, 2011 at 11:06 am

  7. rosegabrielle

    I can’t tell you how much I want to eat that cake. I saw it last night, or this morning rather, and it made it really hard not to go sweets-hunting in the kitchen! Sounds delicious.

    August 10, 2011 at 12:18 am

    • haha thank you! next time I see you I will definately have it be waiting for you!

      August 10, 2011 at 7:46 pm

Leave a Reply

