A blog about everything even cooking

The summer to-do list

Well summer is finally arriving and this means its time to create my summer to-do list..a list I make every summer. Last year the goal was to read nine books that I had purchased but never read, this of course was not completed (I read one). This summer I have put together a list that will be completed, because its possible it’s not work its fun. Spending the summer reading is fun but trying to read 9 books in two and a half months is just stress.

When I first started thinking of how I wanted to spend my summer, I got a bit nervous. I had no goals, nothing that I had wanted to do during the school year but had no time…but then I looked around my room and saw a copy of “Lord of The Rings”..LOVE the movies but I have never read the books so my list was finally getting started with LOTR :). Then I was on a roll, I remembered that months before I learned of a new cake..a victorian sandwich cake mmm added to the list along with making a pie but im not sure what kind yet. I thought my list was completed but after a visit to my Grandma’s house I found something new to add…planting flower bulbs and recording their growth over summer (if I manage to keep them alive..fingers crossed).

I started my summer to-do list last friday in the backyard with the company of my dogs of course! My mom bought me new soil for the bulbs and got out pots for me to use..I then got to work. It was so much fun to plant the bulbs and cover them up with soil (I felt like I was in the movie “The Secret Garden”). Hopefully I don’t mess up on my first summer to-do. I’ll post pictures IF the bulbs start growing flowers but in the meantime here are some pictures of last friday.

the bulbs...aren't they scary looking??

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

the soil..which my dog tootsie tried to eat..

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

now I wait.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I hope you all have an awesome week and amazing weekend 🙂 thanks for reading 🙂
4 responses

  1. pawpoint

    a summer ‘to-do list’ is a great idea, I made a sort of novelty one last summer because I was bored out of my mind. Some of the things that features on the list:
    – Find the fanciest hotel in town and ride up and down in the elevator until i get kicked out
    – Gather some friends and have and sit down in starbucks with our laptops and pretend to be hipster
    – tied in with the above: order a double shot, decaf, extra foam, skim milk, soy, moccachino latte with a double peppermint shot and low fat chocolate sprinkles in an eco-friendly plastic cup, from Starbucks.
    – Create an obstacle course around the house for my dog
    – Pretend to be a spy and follow a random stranger
    – Cook and pretend I am hosting a cooking show
    – See how many times I can hit someone with a spatula without them walking away.

    … I completed very little of my list. Good luck with yours!!

    May 18, 2011 at 6:46 am

  2. jaswrites

    I just read a copy of “Game Theory : A Short Introduction” . Very interesting book – I would recommend it.
    For lighter reading – “LIfe of Pi” by Yann Martel

    June 16, 2011 at 5:03 am

Leave a Reply

