A blog about everything even cooking

Movie review : “Rise of the Planet of the Apes”

I just got back from a midnight showing of “Rise of the Plant of the Apes” and let me just say that the only reason I am able to write-up a review right now at 2 am is because I am so energized and pumped from the movie I just want to take over the world with apes (I seriously just want to run around a city with a giant group…just fight everyone..take em down!). I am no fancy movie reviewer so if that’s what you want..just leave..if you want to know if the movie kicks butt and if its amazing then keep reading.

The storyline of this movie is the following:” An origin story set in present day San Francisco, where man’s own experiments with genetic engineering lead to the development of intelligence in apes and the onset of a war for supremacy.” – IMDb

But oh…oh! It’s so much more!!!.

When I first saw the trailer for this movie I knew I would at least rent it. I was unsure about the movie because some movies that look that amazing end up sucking sometimes or the ending is awful….I was actually freaking out about the ending of this movie throughout the entire movie because I didn’t see a good one happening..but dont worry! The ending ties it all together.

When you go and see this movie you will fall in love with 3 chimps/gorillas. There will be moments when you tear up a little. You will smile and cheer on the apes as they take down all the humans that mistreated them. At the beginning you may start out pro-human but at the end..if your normal you will be converted to pro-ape. I know when you think about a movie that’s suppose to be serious but there are apes that talk you kind of wonder how it could be taken seriously..how will they execute it so that it’s not a joke? In this movie they introduce it slowly. This film was no joke, had no stupid parts that made you shake your head in disappointment. This movie is one that I would see twice in theaters and then purchase the dvd when released.

Being tough on the movie I give it a rating of 8/10. There are no perfect movies but this movie is close.

If you are unsure about seeing this movie, just take a risk because you will love it!

2 responses

  1. donna B.

    Loved it too! Amazing “acting” by the Apes (capital A for Awesome). Everything a movie should be. Going with the midnight diehards always adds a kick to the entire event. Major applause at the end!

    August 5, 2011 at 9:49 am

Leave a Reply

